I’m at home this holiday-eve and like millions of other Americans I went to see a movie today. It seems that no matter where you are, when you have a day that stores are closed the result is that people either watch TV or go to the movies. We saw, Juno, a movie about teenage pregnancy and the pressures of learning what it means to love.

Tonight is pretty normal, but something I don’t appreciate enough. I’m spending it in the kitchen, our social nesting place, cracking nuts and being the best sous chef I can be. The lights on the patio are lit red and I lit a log in the fireplace. June is being curious and Henry just woke up. It’s rather peaceful and surreal to be home-home for the holidays. It’s the first time that I feel comfortable calling my abode a home. It’s rather routine and comfortable at the same time.

Now is the time to reflect on the past year. What we did and what we failed to do. It’s a time to plan and hope for a better tomorrow – a better next year. A recap at this past year shows it has been a memorable one for many reasons.

  • Got married
  • Moved into a home
  • Started a business and hired 2 people
  • Turned 30
  • Learned to dance (Swing and Lindy) – and met some great friends S&E
  • Graduated with my Masters (w/ @packetshard)
  • Trip to London/Paris (Stonehenge and Bath in UK)
  • Training tour-de-asia (Sydney, Melbourne, Tokyo, Seoul) – visited the N/S Korea DMZ and climbed the Sydney Harbor bridge
  • Attended two weddings (Kristy/Greg & Lorie/Paul)
  • Saw the BYOBW (Bring Your Own Big Wheel) down Lombard
  • Trip to Seattle (@dacort, who partied with us in SF for NYE)
  • Discovered Facebook, Dopplr, GrandCentral

The list of things I didn’t do is shorter and less interesting. Maybe I one of the things I should do is complete my list of 100 goals in 1000 days.