Growing up and throughout my life I would down play what my Dad does professionally because people would make assumptions that I didn’t like.  In grade-school people would share what their parents did, and when it got to me I would say, “My Dad is a doctor.”  I never clarified or explained much more beyond that.

People immediately thought we were rich and growing up I never felt I was.  We had a house, school, food, and grew up in a Douglas Coupland version of suburbia.  I felt pretty normal and didn’t like the attention it drew when I said my Dad was a doctor, or a surgeon for that matter.

My Dad is coming into town this weekend for a visit and I needed to know when he would arrive.  I left a voicemail on his cell phone, but knew he doesn’t check it as often as I do, so I paged him.  Minutes later I received a call from a woman saying, “I’m calling on behalf of the Doctor.”  I thought it must be his secretary until I realized that he was in surgery and she was calling to see what the page was about.

Now I’ve watched all the doctor sitcoms from E.R. to Gray’s Anatomy, but there is a very surreal feeling you get when you receive a phone call from the operating room itself.  I heard him in the background saying the time he would arrive and then she confirmed that I heard it.  I hung up thinking to myself, “he is operating on a person”; the patient was cut open in some way.

I really can’t describe the feeling, but I smiled and was proud of what he does.  I used to compete with him and my brother on various levels (i.e. if you google my name a link to my Dad used to come up before me, now this is reversed… whew!)  But I will always be impressed with what he does as it’s something that not many other people can do.

I “consult”.  It’s something that with enough time and experience anyone can do well, and with a little stretching of the truth marketing, others say they do well.  But you can’t just go out there and say you do “surgery”.

It’s not father’s day, but I feel really proud of what he does, even if it seems like “another day at the office” monotony to him.

