“To accomplish great things, we must not only act, but also dream; not only plan, but also believe.” – Anatole France

It is said that the hardest part of any project is starting it. With me the hardest part of any project is starting it again and again every day. When I started a graduate program after having been in the industry for 5 years it seemed like a good idea. Almost a year into the 18 month program I was having second thoughts. Although I still had 6 months left, mentally I was finished. In order to finish the race I need to mentally “start” the project (school) again every day.

I was told a story once about a guy who wanted to get partners to work on his great IT idea, but could not tell them what it was for fear they would go off and do it on their own. This is meant to be a funny story because people have “ideas” all the time… thousands of them even. It’s action that separates the dreamers from those who achieve greatness. (And any project that could that easily be duplicated probably will be anyway.)

If I had a nickle for every project I’ve started… But people don’t pay you for starting things. You are never measured by the number of great ideas you have. People never put on their resume that they “started but never finished” anything. It’s action that shows intent.

