A friend sent me the following quote, which made me think about some recent events.

They may forget what you said, but they will never forget how you made them feel.
– Carl W. Buechner

Although I am not in favor of a long term ban on liquids, gels, shoes, etc. being banned by TSA, doing so does provide millions of people with a false sense of security that makes them happy. I am not a utilitarian, but there is some sense to this argument. The reasoning is that there is very little visible things the government can do to prevent a terrorist attack. Most attack prevention will all happen outside of the public eye. Then why not provide the populous something that will provide them a sense of security.

They who would give up an essential liberty for temporary security, deserve neither liberty or security.
– Benjamin Franklin

and more… being my favorite quotation being the

