You know you had better watch out when your girlfriend sends you a link to a NYTimes article that relates training your husband to the art of training animals. When Amy Sutherland tried changing bad habits in her husband she realized quickly that “nagging, of course, .. only made his behavior worse.” She learned from watching animal trainers that “the central lesson I learned from exotic animal trainers is that I should reward behavior I like and ignore behavior I don’t.”

I wonder if this really works. It seems as if it might only after you provide some signal to describe the behavior that you desire. Otherwise you are just hoping they will guess that which you desire.

P.S. She is right that nagging does not work. Corporations learned this back in the early 2000’s when they began emphasizing reinforcing positive behavior instead of trying to correct negative behavior.

