The homestead grew in size from 2 to 6 this weekend and part of next week as my family descended on the city. My brother and his wife came in from Washington D.C., and my mom and sister flew in from Michigan. Thankfully we are prepared to host groups this size (and even have overflow space at the neighbor’s house in the event we need more.)

All weekend we spent time touring the city: Haight St, Golden Gate Park, Conservatory of Flowers, De Young Museum, Powell St, Union Square, China Town, Fulton Fillmore Jazz Festival, and time spent at home. It is great having everyone together to talk about our lives and tell stories. I’m really happy everyone is here in SF.

Today, I have lots of homework to get caught up on, so some of them will go tour the city as my mom and I stay at home and work. We will regroup in the evening to have dinner and so we can hear their stories.

I have many memories of this trip but the one that stands out is how much laughing we have done. Everyone has been laughing at each others stories of quirkiness and humor.

Update: The next day we went to most of the “drive to” tourist locations starting with Cliff House on the edge of the Pacific Ocean with a nice short cave exploration and rock climbing. Then we drove on to the Golden Gate Bridge and while the they explored, we chatted with a guy who lived in Diamond Heights and has retired to bicycle around all the time. (I said that will be me when I retire.) We then took Lombard to Divisadero and drove up the hill to what I affectionately call the Mansion District. From there we drove back to Lombard and down the crookedest road, ending up at Coit Tower. What a day. Instead of rushing out to see the fireworks, we stayed in and watched them from the homestead while we drank beer, ate munchies, and marveled at the size of a local spider.

