Ok, so I have always been curious about the Mac crazed sub-culture and always envy them for the slick looking laptop, but have failed to take the dive because it's foreign and unknown. How do I navigate the unknown menus options (this was how I felt when first using Windows 95)? Where are all the system files stored? Do programs install to one directory or is there an equivalent of the \windows\system32 directory? Where do I get software for the Mac?

There are some pretty positive benefits though as well. For example, the Unix command line is native allowing me to run nmap and kismet without having to run a virtual machine or dual boot. I like the ability to run on an overall more secure platform and implement IP tables firewall rules myself. I also like some of the "i"-branded applications that come with it. If I bought a Mac I could finally purchase an iSight (which I was never able to get to work with my PC.)

One of the biggest benefits is that if I wanted to run Windows applications I can now do so natively with the support built right into the chip architecture! This means I could run an actual instance of Windows concurrently with OSX instead of having it virtualized.

One issue with the new architecture is that the new PowerBook does not have a standard PCMCIA slot for my Orinoko card.  I'm told they have a newer version of PCMCIA but it's an entirely new size and most expansion cards are not made for it yet. 

I want to thank Brandon, an Apple architecture, standards and planning guy I met recently who told me that my iPod is a gateway tech to the Mac. He's a smart person who surprised me with his innovative way to log events in Oracle in real-time without large space constraints.

