I had dinner tonight with a client and we really hit it off. They revealed that their employee handbook requires one Seinfeld and one Jerky Boys reference a day. I especially enjoy my clients when they are a great group of people to be working with.

It's strange how business is conducted over the most common things. I heard the other day on NPR that Frank Deford, Sports Illustrated editor, pokes fun at the accusations made by the New York Times that "Morgan Stanley, was stocking up his board of directors with golfing buddies."

Now, first of all, I hate to be the one to tell the Times, but this goes under the heading of "Dog Bites Man." It's always been my understanding that you can't either a) work on Wall Street or b) qualify for a board of directors unless you do play golf. But upon reflection, I appreciate the newspaper of record for bringing this gross social injustice to our attention.

Every client I have wanted to get to know me personally before they engaged in business.  Sometimes it is over dinner and sometimes on the golf course (not that I play the sport), but it's always in some informal setting that they decided if they get the warm fuzzies from me.

Long ago an accounting firm partner told me that people will do business with those that they: Like, Trust, and Respect. If you cannot develop these three things they are much less likely to do business with you.

