I was talking with my mom the other day about blogging and so she told everyone in the family making this comment:

I would like to comment on this new mode of communication. When you guys were younger, (I must be old when I remember the good old days) if I read you diary, you would go beserk, crazy, nuts. Now my son is putting his diary on line. Times they are a changing! (From an old Bob Dylan song)

Although this is not a “diary” many people do use blogging as a form of online personal writing (i.e. MySpace and LiveJournal). But according to my mom it’s not as personal as I thought it was. I told her how she can leave comments on my blog to which she replied, “That’s too impersonal. I like to just call you up and talk about things on the phone.”

So, there you have it. Blogging is anything but personal. I feel it’s a way for people to keep in touch but not enough to actually share a heart-to-heart. But I’ll keep it up as long as I have something to say and time to say it.

