Merriam-Webster Online (my favorite dictionary) defines opportunity as (1) a favorable juncture of circumstances or (2) a good chance for advancement or progress. I just watched the Boing Boing blog post on a mashup of Toy Story and Requiem For A Dream (a favorite movie of mine). It’s really sureal how that movie evokes emotion from it. The trailer alone has so many great quotes:

“We need to get us a piece of thie Brody shit, cut it up, and off it. We could double our money, easy.”

The quest for money and riches sometimes drives us to do crazy things. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to make it big, but it’s important to keep in mind what it is taking you to get there. A friend of mine saved his entire life for retirement only to get there and realize that he had ignored and thus lost almost all his friends during his struggle.

“Anyboy want to waste some time?”

Oh boy, who doesn’t want to sit and watch TV, have a beer, play with their cat, play one more game of Soduko, or any number of other things just to lay back and relax? But it’s important to keep these areas of your life in check as idle hands are the Devil’s workshop.

“This is our chance to make it big, but if we get wasted we could fuck it up.”

That’s right folks, just as they say in Fight Club, “this is your life, and it’s ending one minute at a time.” Life doesn’t get any better than this and this is all we have. Make what you want of it but don’t fuck it up! One of my favorite lines is, “This above all: to thine own self be true.” (it’s also engraved on the back of my iPod.)

“I always thought you were the most beautiful girl I have ever seen.” “That makes me feel really good.”

This line just makes me swoon and get chills up my spine. Because to be in love is such a wonderful feeling. In the movie both characters are cuddled up in bed and talking quietly to each other. It evokes a sense of safety in the otherwise chaotic world of the characters’ lives. This line reminds me to remember that no matter how bard life can be, there are those close to you that you need (your support structure) who will hold you close and tell you that everything will be ok. These are the most important people in your life.

“You know, someone like you could really make things alright for me.”

I don’t know if this line applies to others out there but it was included in a movie meant to appeal to audiences of all kinds so I assume it does. It’s the reminder that, as John Donne said in his Meditation XVII, “no man is an island, entire to itself”. I’ve found that many of my friends are similar to me in some ways and different in others. I enjoy our similarities and our differences because they teach me and complete me in so many ways. The “no man is an island” statement (also noted in the movie About A Boy — another favorite of mine) refers to the fact that we do not function independently of others. It is not a recommendation, but a mandate that we rely on others for certain things. It is also a promise that life will not only be easier but more enjoyable when we do.

Here’s the entire Meditation XVII. Both my brother and I enjoy it for different reasons. He enjoys the mortality of the bell while I enjoy the isolation of the island.

“All mankind is of one author, and is one volume; when one man dies, one chapter is not torn out of the book, but translated into a better language; and every chapter must be so translated…As therefore the bell that rings to a sermon, calls not upon the preacher only, but upon the congregation to come: so this bell calls us all: but how much more me, who am brought so near the door by this sickness….No man is an island, entire of itself…any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind; and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.”

